top of page

From the Mailbag - 07/28/2021

If you find my tips and tricks useful, then please consider supporting me by buying my ebook. It costs just $10 and is loaded with useful information. Get it HERE.



****************



DARRYN is pretty sure he has viruses on his Windows 8 desktop computer. However, he lives in rural Idaho and the nearest Best Buy is several hours away, so Geek Squad is not an option. What should he do?


I chatted with DARRYN and confirmed that he does have malware on that computer. Really nice kid. Unfortunately he lives in Idaho, otherwise I would head over to take care of this for him. Here are the steps to follow:

  • Back up your data.

  • Format the hard drive.

  • Reinstall Windows from a source that you know is not infected.

  • Restore your data.

DARRYN told me he has an 32GB USB flash drive and his girlfriend has a Windows laptop that he can work from. Good. I talked him through downloading Linux Mint. Then he made a Linux Mint Live USB with the flash drive. Now all he has to do is boot the desktop PC from that in order to backup his data. He can use the Dell Restore DVD to format the drive and reinstall Windows.


One more thing DARRYN, AVG Free Antivirus is OK but I recommend a paid subscription to ESET Internet Security. It costs $49.99 for one year and $79.99 for two years. In my experience, ESET is a better product.



****************



LEAH emailed to ask what is the best Cloud backup service?


I really like Backblaze. It costs $60 for one year and $110 for two years.



****************



HECTOR, TIFFANY, CRISTEN, DAVID, and STEVE all asked whether I get paid for endorsements?


No, not a dime! I offer my endorsement FREELY to products/services that I believe will help my Clients or followers. I am NOT on anyone's payroll.



****************



Keep the questions coming!

Getting in touch with me is easy . . .


Via Phone - 1 (443) 837-5471


Via Email - CONTACT ME


Via Twitter - @MONTechSvc

Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page