top of page

From the Mailbag - 12/22/2021

BETH has a Windows 10 laptop that she bought for her freshman year of college. She graduated a year ago and the computer is still going strong but is now running noticeably slower. Is it time to replace the hard drive?


That hard drive is over five years old at this point. It does not owe you anything!


Yes, I recommend that you replace the hard drive with a solid state drive (SSD). First, head over to Crucial.com to buy an SSD. Then use Windows System Image to clone the old hard drive before swapping it out. Once you have the SSD installed, follow the directions at Windows Central to restore your data to it. Good luck!



****************



KARL is an amateur photographer. He has THOUSANDS of photos saved on a USB hard drive. He would like to start backing up his photos to a Cloud service. Which one(s) do I recommend?


I texted back and forth with KARL for a bit and it turns out he is already an Amazon Prime member. One of the benefits of his Prime membership is "unlimited, full-resolution photo storage" in Amazon Photos. Since you are already paying for Prime, go ahead and use that.



****************



RICKY bought a 4TB USB drive to start backing up his Windows desktop PC. He wants to back up by cloning the hard drive. Which program(s) do I recommend?


I recommend these programs, in order . . .


****************



If you find my tips and tricks useful, then please consider supporting me by buying my ebook. It costs just $10 and is loaded with useful information. Get it HERE.


Keep the questions coming!

Getting in touch with me is easy . . .


Via Phone - 1 (443) 837-5471


Via Email - CONTACT ME


Via Twitter - @MONTechSvc

Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page