top of page

From the Mailbag

GERALD has a couple dozen home movies of his two year old twins saved on a desktop computer. The files are good quality MP4s but they are also quite large (2GB+ each). What is the best way to share them with family members?


I recommend that you upload the movies to YouTube. You already have a Gmail account, so that login will work for YouTube as well. First, take some time to review their Recommended Upload Encoding Settings. This will help you avoid having the movies (a) rejected outright or (b) subjected to a lengthy upload and/or transcoding process. The maximum file size is 128GB or 12 hours, whichever is less.


Once you get the movies uploaded, then you can email everyone a link to view them. You will probably also want to make the videos private or unlisted to restrict access by the general public.



****************



ESTEBAN needs an inexpensive external CD/DVD burner that will connect via USB. Do I have a recommendation for both hardware and software?


Amazon has a huge selection available. For example, this one is only $39.99 and rates 4½ out of 5 stars. It also comes with CyberLink Media Suite, although I do not know which version you will get.



****************



MINA'S grandparents live out in the country and have terribly slow DSL. Most of the time it is not much better than dial-up. Unfortunately, they have very few options and are on a fixed income. Recommendations?


DSL gets slower the farther you are from the Central Office. If I remember correctly, you must be within 5 miles for optimum performance. Any farther than that and the connection speed drops very quickly. Give Nomad Internet a try. I have been hearing and reading good things about them lately. Your grandparents could even end up getting free Internet if they refer friends and neighbors to the service. Be sure to let me know how they make out with it.


Once again, I do NOT get paid for endorsements. Not a dime! I offer my endorsement freely to products/services that I believe will help my Clients or followers. I am NOT on anyone's payroll.



****************



Keep the questions coming!

Getting in touch with me is easy . . .


Via Phone - 1 (443) 837-5471


Via Email - CONTACT ME


Via Twitter - @MONTechSvc

Comentarios


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page